Diplo Releases First Album Under Thomas Wesley Country Alias ‘Chapter 1: Snake Oil’

Diplo’s country alias falls under his real name Thomas Wesley and today sees the artist release Chapter 1: Snake Oil.

Born Thomas Wesley Pentz, Diplo is one of the most dynamic forces in music today under his own name, as well as a member of the now legendary Major Lazer. As a producer he’s worked with the likes of Beyoncé, Bad Bunny and Turnstile.

Diplo’s foray into Country has been gestating for a while. He brought it the public for the first time at Stagecoach’s first ever Late Night dance party in 2019, where he welcomed Lil Nas X and Billy Ray Cyrus for the live debut of Old Town Road. He has since released his own remix of the track and appeared alongside them at the Grammys.

With collaborations with Jonas Brothers, Orville Peck, Noah Cyrus, Blanco Brown and others, Snake Oil brings together talent from the commercial and country space to create the ultimate debut country album for Thomas.

I know it’s a confusing time for my fans. Not only is a global pandemic restructuring the music industry but the 73rd best DJ in the world (me) is releasing a country album …” he wrote on Instagram this week. “It should not make sense but it’s definitely the best album I’ve ever made. I promise. Even my mom and dad told me so.”

It would be surprising if Diplo fans fall in love with this album, the real measure of quality is if country fans enjoy the 12 track collection.

The track listing for Diplo Presents Thomas Wesley Chapter 1: Snake Oil is:

  1. Intro feat. Orville Peck
  2. So Long feat. Cam
  3. Heartless feat. Morgan Wallen
  4. Lonely with Jonas Brothers
  5. Dance With Me feat. Thomas Rhett & Young Thug
  6. Do Si Do feat. Blanco Brown
  7. On Mine feat. Noah Cyrus
  8. Real Life Stuff feat. Julia Michaels & Clever
  9. Hometown feat. Zac Brown & Danielle Bradbery
  10. Heartbreak feat. Ben Burgess
  11. Heartless with Julia Michaels & Morgan Wallen
  12. Old Town Road (Diplo Remix)





Related Stories